10-Mile Champions Set New Standards

SilverStrand ElliptiGO ridersThe inaugural 10-Mile Championships of Elliptical Cycling took place Nov. 15 as part of the Silver Strand race series. This race, which takes place near ElliptiGO World Headquarters, covered a gorgeous route on a sliver of land between the Pacific Ocean and San Diego Bay.

Darren Brown rode away with an impressive victory in 34:09 (17.6mph average), nearly three minutes faster than runner-up Bryce Whiting. This victory helped salve the emotional wound of his heart-breaking loss during the recent World Championships of Elliptical Cycling. He led that race for more ¾ of the contest before he had two mechanical issues – first a problem with his gears then a flat tire.

Anna Thatcher also claimed some redemption from her 3rd place finish in the World Championships. She took the 10-Mile title in 44:24 (13.5mph average), a full 9 minutes ahead of Imelda Jimenez.

Both competitors etched their names in the history books, setting the official course record and the standard that future challengers will strive to beat.


Posted November 20, 2015 by Tennille in records, updates